VISION

  • The HKAGE aims to become a regional hub of its kind with an effective framework for strategic planning and delivery of appropriate programmes to encourage and nurture gifted students, and to provide support to their teachers and parents as well as other researchers and related organisations within the Hong Kong SAR.

MISSION

  • Specifically, our mission is to secure appropriate learning and development opportunities for gifted students, aged 10 to 18 years, to enable them to realise their potential in a wide range of learning domains including academic and non-academic areas including leadership, creativity and interpersonal skills, and to cater for their social and emotional needs as well as their sense of commitment to the local community;

    In addition, we also have to
    • mobilise and steer the interest and effort of parents, teachers, academics and business and community leaders with a view to creating a conducive and enriching learning environment for all gifted students;
    • facilitate the professional development of teachers in the identification and support of gifted students within the school context;
    • develop, through partnership with like-minded organisations, both locally and in other countries, a knowledge hub for furthering research on gifted education and the exchange of ideas and best practice.

OUR PURPOSE

  • In his Policy Address delivered in October 2006, the Chief Executive announced the establishment of an academy for gifted education (The Hong Kong Academy for Gifted Education, “the HKAGE”) to provide more structured, articulated and challenging off-site programmes for students with exceptional talents, and to promote the concepts and practices of gifted education to support teachers and parents. The Legislative Council Panel on Education discussed in November 2006 the Administration’s proposal to provide financial support for the setting up of the Academy.
  • The HKAGE informally started its planning and preparatory work in early 2008 when the Executive Director took up his post. Delivery of its services started in September 2008 with the migration of responsibility for student programmes and parent support from the EDB to the HKAGE and the beginning of the Academy’s own programmes.
  • The HKAGE is structured to provide information, support and advice to three main stakeholder groups in Hong Kong: students, teachers and parents. Since early 2012, research has been added to the portfolio of support.

POSITIONING OF THE ACADEMY

  • The HKAGE operates independently of Government bureaux to provide for flexibility of management and operations.

PROVISION AND SUPPORT FOR STUDENTS

  • Our target population is Hong Kong’s gifted students, defined as those who consistently perform in the top of their age-related ability range, in one or more domains. Our aim is to secure appropriate learning and development opportunities for gifted students, initially aged 10 to 18 years, to enable them to realise their potential in a wide range of learning domains including academic and non-academic areas including leadership, creativity and interpersonal skills, and to cater for their social and emotional needs as well as their sense of commitment to the local community.
  • We offer high quality and challenging programmes by collaborating with both local and overseas universities, non-government organisations and professional individuals and teachers. Learning at the Academy takes various forms: courses, talks, workshops, online learning, study tours and competitions etc. They are available at introductory, intermediate and advanced levels to facilitate progressive learning. All the courses will be available off site, though school venues will not be uncommon.

PROVISION AND SUPPORT FOR PARENTS

  • Parents’ and schools’ need for support is also recognised. We now provide a Consultation and Assessment Centre for parents and teachers within the Academy structure. This Centre provides territory-wide hotline and email support and assessment services for those students with special needs.
  • Parental education is provided in a range of subjects including the identification and nurturing of gifted children. Workshops, seminars and support groups are held on a regular basis as part of our Parent Education Programme (PEP). It is expected that around 5000 parents can be served each year.

PROVISION AND SUPPORT FOR TEACHERS/SCHOOLS

  • A number of thematic seminars and workshops are conducted to equip teachers with the knowledge and skills to meet the learning needs of gifted students.
  • Outreach services for professional practitioners of schools or school sponsoring bodies are provided upon request.

RESEARCH SUPPORT

  • Since 2012 the Academy has begun to conduct research and development conducive to a sustainable growth and advancement of knowledge in gifted education in Hong Kong. To support and keep track of the development of our gifted students, we aim to set up a network of mentors comprising different expertise in Hong Kong. We will continue to conduct research to provide evidence-based advices on services for the gifted, effective programme delivery and monitoring, and pedagogy.

願景

  • 資優學苑的宗旨是成為具備有效策略規劃的地區樞紐,致力提供合適課程,以鼓勵並培育資優學生,並向教師、家長、其他研究人員和香港特別行政區相關機構提供支援。

使命

  • 我們致力確保10至18歲的資優學生獲得合適的學習和發展機會,讓他們在學術及非學術的寬廣學習範疇中發揮潛能,包括領導才能、創造力及人際交往能力,以照顧他們的社交情緒需要,以及培養他們對本地社會的承擔感。

    此外,我們亦:
    • 推動並引導家長、教師、學者、商界及社會領袖的興趣和努力,期望為所有資優學生創造有利及強化學習的環境;
    • 促進教師在識別及支援校內資優學生方面的專業發展;
    • 透過與本地及海外教育理念相近的機構之間的夥伴關係,發展成延展資優教育研究以及交流意見與優良措施的知識樞紐。

本苑宗旨

  • 行政長官於2006年10月的施政報告中公佈成立一所資優教育學苑(香港資優教育學苑,簡稱「資優學苑」),為具備卓越才華的學生提供有系統、富連貫性及具挑戰性的校外培訓課程,以及實踐資優教育和推廣有關理念,以支援教師與家長。立法會教育事務委員會於2006年11月,討論當局撥款成立資優學苑的建議。
  • 院長履新後,香港資優教育學苑於2008年初非正式開展其計劃和籌備工作,並於2008年9月開始提供服務,承接教育局的學生課程和家長支援服務,此外亦自行開辦課程。
  • 資優學苑旨在為本港三類主要持份者學生、教師和家長提供資訊、支援和參考建議。自2012年初起,本苑亦增設研究項目,以提供更多支援服務。

本苑定位

  • 資優學苑以獨立於政府機構的模式,靈活地管理和運作。

為學生提供的服務及支援

  • 我們的服務對象為香港的資優學生,即在年齡相關的能力範圍內(一個或多個範疇)持續表現最好的學生。我們致力確保10至18歲的資優學生獲得合適的學習和發展機會,讓他們在學術及非學術的寬廣學習範疇中發揮潛能,包括領導才能、創造力與人際交往能力,以照顧他們的社交情緒需要,以及培養他們對本地社會的承擔感。
  • 資優學苑為學員提供優質而具挑戰性的課程,合作夥伴包括本地及海外大學、非政府機構、專業人士及教師。我們的課程以課堂、講座、工作坊、網上學習、遊學團及比賽等形式進行,分為基礎、進階和深造程度,讓學員能循序漸進地學習。所有課程均屬校外培訓,惟部分課程可能於學校舉辦。

為家長提供的服務及支援

  • 我們亦明白家長和學校對支援的需要,因此在本苑設立諮詢及評估中心,為家長和教師提供服務。該中心提供全港性的熱線電話和電子郵箱支援,並設評估服務,以協助有特別需要的學生。
  • 我們提供多樣化的家長教育,包括以識別和培育資優兒童等主題活動。家長教育課程包括定期舉行的工作坊、講座及支援小組,預計每年為約5000名家長提供服務。

為教師╱學校提供的服務及支援

  • 專題講座及工作坊旨在提升學校專業同工資優教育方面的知識和技能,以滿足資優生的學習需要。
  • 我們也有為學校或辦學團體的專業同工提供外展專業發展服務。

研究支援

  • 自2012年起,本苑亦開始進行研究及發展項目,以增進學問識見及促進香港資優教育的持續發展。為支援與了解資優學生的發展,我們致力聯繫本港不同專家學者以建立良師網絡。我們將繼續進行研究,就資優學生的培訓服務、有效的授課模式與監察方法,以及教學法提供實證為本的參考建議。